Reading Tag

I was tagged by my friend Lisa…

1. Name three of your favorite books and tell us a bit about them.

– The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. I grew up listening to the audio books and now everytime I read the books or listen to the audio again I notice some new awesome thing. All the books are so unique but have common threads. It means a lot to me and has great messages and inspires my imagination.

– The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux. Most people know this from the musical, which I like…but I probably don’t even have to tell you: THE BOOK WAS BETTER. This book had everything…exictment, humor, romance….I found it to be unique.

– The Theif Lord by Cornelia Funke. I loved the characters…especially Scipio. It made me fall in love with Venice and I felt like I had been there myself. Even though I sort of didn’t like the ending, this book gave me a lot of feels and stayed in my mind constantly for days…something few books do. So, that’s how it gets a place here among my faves!

 

2. Name three of your least favorite books.

\\I usually just don’t finish books I hate, so these are ones that I don’t exactly despise but also wouldn’t read again.\\

– Small Steps by Louis Sachar. The sequel to Holes… it kind of lacked the playful innonence of Holes and didn’t meet my expectations. I don’ think Holes needed a sequel and this book had a totally different feel. Don’t get me wrong, it was good in many ways but I guess I just wasn’t the intended audience. The protagonist had his admirable points most certainly, but I also had a hard time relating to some of his decisions and personality.

– Dante’s Inferno. I enjoyed parts of it and it’s interesting from a historical/philosophical perspective so I do think it’s a good, but I honestly got really tired of hearing about all the tortures in Hell. Even though it wasn’t super long, I still feel like it should have been shorter!

– Cannot think of third…other than this one Christian Romance book I read that was overly sappy and sensual. I mean, it was historical so it had a few interesting points and the Christian part helped give it a bit more depth and kept it from being overly sexual…but overall it was pretty “meh” and the characters were too cliche.

3. Name some books you’ve loved since childhood.

– NARIA.

-Anne of Green Gables

– Time Cat

4. Name a book that disappointed you.

Artemis Fowl. I thought it was gonna be super awesome and I did like some parts but it didn’t especially impress me at the time…I found it to be a little weird. I kinda wanna go back and read more Artemis Fowl though because sometimes I was a weird kid and now the series really attracts me. Weirdly, I like it better now than when I first read it!

5. Name a book that surprised you.

The Prince by Machiavelli. I honestly thought it was going to be dry and irrelevant but I found it very interesting and even amusing…I loved how honest the narrator was, even if i didn’t always agree.

6. Name a favorite graphic novel/ comic/ manga.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret. Haven’t gotten my hands on it long enough to read the whole thing but I love it.

7. Name a favorite non-fiction book.

Mere Christianity because it hath LOGIC.

8. Name a favorite poetry book.

Hmm…I really liked this one Robert Frost poetry book that had illustrations that I got from the library several times. Also Love That Dog by Sharon Creech is delightful!

9. Name a book you’d like to see made into a movie.

The Horse and His Boy by C.S. Lewis. It could be so super awesome.

10. What are you reading now?

I have a bunch of books that I’ve read partway and intend on picking up again soon but these are the books I’m currently reading:

-Out of the Silent Planet by C.S. Lewis.

-The Bible. I’m on a year-long reading plan thing…time will tell if I actually follow through!
Leave a Reply

